Monday, July 15, 2024


Site updated: October 12, 2020.



Birmingham Black Barons

Birmingham Black Barons (1944)
Negro American League Champion

(Front row left to right – John Scott, Ed Steele, Ted Radcliffe, Winfield Welch, Alvin Gipson and Leandy Young.
Middle row left to right – Lester Lockett, Lafayette Washington, Alfred Saylor, Tommy Sampson,
Lloyd “Pepper” Bassett and Lorenzo “Piper” Davis. Back row left to right –
Felix McLaurin, John Britton, Leroy Morney, Artie Wilson, Jimmy Newberry and John Huber.)

To Learn More about Negro League Baseball
Please visit
Center for Negro League Baseball Research’s Main Website


Syndicate   Print   

Copyright (c) 2024 Negro Southern League Museum Research Center    ||   Negro Southern League Museum Research Center   ||  Login